Governors can best be likened to the non-executive directors of a public company. Their main responsibilities include determining the aims, values and overall conduct of the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement.

Specific duties include setting staffing levels, appointing the Headteacher and senior staff, setting and agreeing the school budget, ensuring that a broad and balanced curriculum is delivered, as well as health and safety and the management of the premises.

The Governors work as a team with the Headteacher to raise the standards of achievement for all students at the school; they act as a critical friend by monitoring and challenging.


The Governing Body is comprised of 12 Governors:

  • The Headteacher – Mr Vincent Murray
  • 1 Governor appointed by the Local Authority – Mr Alan Sherwell
  • 2 Foundations Governors appointed by the Aylesbury Learning Partnership of Schools (ALPS) of which The Grange is a member – Mr Andrew Hamshere ; Mrs Zena Sutcliffe (Chair)
  • 3 Governors elected by the parent body – Mr M Cardoso (Vice Chair)
  • 1 Governor elected by the staff Mr N Hood, Mr J Parker (Vice Chair), Mr D Walters
  • 4 Governors co-opted (appointed) by the Governing Board of which a maximum of two may be staff members –  Mr D Eatwell, Mr P Harper, Mr P Jackson, Mrs V Kuht

To contact our Chair of Governors, Mrs Zena Sutcliffe, please send an email to


To keep informed of the work of our governors, please see the Schedule of Governors’ Meetings and Minutes of Meetings pages.